Thiry-five primary schools have been reportedly shut-down in Obi Local Government Area, Nasarawa state.

This was made known by Oguashuwa Onuku Samuel, the education secretary of Obi Local Government.

According to reports, the schools were shut-down due to attacks on Tiv communities in the Southern Senatorial District of the state.

According to Oguashuwa, “Many primary schools are no longer existing in Obi, following the displacement of host communities”.

“Efforts by the state government to bring education to its standard has fallen apart as the number of primary schools is reducing.”

He continued that any finance that was supposed to be used for the development of educational activities in the southern senatorial district should be deployed to rehabilitate the destroyed primary schools.

“We are into Universal Basic Education Commission’s national personnel audit, but, the host communities of these primary schools are not around, hence, it will affect the population.

“There is need for government to devise another strategy to intervene in that case, to resolve the difference between the two warring parties so that peace and development can permanently return to the communities affected by the crisis in order to bring educational activities back to normal.”

The Education secretary gave names of the affected primary schools to include those at Gada Biyu, Nkusu, Mbagwa, Ngbahen, Gidan Onuku, Kuje, Kwaghshir, Usula, Akaha, Uvirkaa, Gidan Aondo, Igboughur, Kertyo, Chiawa, Imon, Apurugh, Ayero, Tsuam, Abiji, Tsamia, Ikposogye, Ushitile, Angwan Mallam,Kayerda, Nomadic, Ubele, Nyitwev, Amachenge, Igbatim, Agon, Abaagu, among others.

Hits: 29

Leave a Comment