Springboks vs Wales: The Boks begin their 2022 season with their first Test against Wales at Loftus Versfeld.

Wales arrive having never won a bilateral series against South Africa.

Sold out

The ‘Sold Out’ signs have gone up at Loftus Versfeld.

All 50 000 seats at the Tshwane-based stadium were sold out on Tuesday afternoon following heightened interest in the first match in front of spectators on home soil for the Springboks since their 2019 World Cup victory.

With the full capacity crowd, Loftus Versfeld will claim the record of having hosted the biggest crowd for a test match between the Springboks and Welsh Dragons in South Africa.

Damian de Allende
Damian de Allende. Photo: SA Rugby website

Springboks vs Wales LIVE scores

Teams: Springboks vs Wales

Springboks: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nché

CHECK THIS  Who is Mrs Leo? Five things to know about the 'RHOCT' star

Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Elrigh Louw, 21 Kwagga Smith, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Willie le Roux

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 George North, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar (c), 9 Kieran Hardy, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Tommy Reffell, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Adam Beard, 4 Will Rowlands, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Gareth Thomas

Replacements: 16 Dewi Lake, 17 Rhys Carre, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Josh Navidi, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Owen Watkin

Date: Saturday, July 2

Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Kick-off: 17:05 local (16:05 BST, 15:05 GMT)

Referee: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia)

Assistant Referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Andrea Piardi (Italy)

TMO: Joy Neville (IRFU)

Previous results: Springboks vs Wales

2021: South Africa won 23-18 in Cardiff

2019: South Africa won 19-16 in Yokohama (RWC)

2018: South Africa won 20-11 in Cardiff

2018: Wales won 22-20 in Washington DC

CHECK THIS  Arthur Zwane reacts to draw against AmaZulu

2017: Wales won 24-22 in Cardiff

2016: Wales won 27-13 in Cardiff

2015: South Africa won 23-19 in London (RWC)

2014: Wales won 12-6 in Cardiff


Source link