The Department of Petroleum Resources has said it has sealed 13 fuel service stations in Sokoto and Kebbi States for under dispensing and operating without valid licences.

Mr Muhammad Makera, the Zonal Operations Controller of DPR in charge of Sokoto and Kebbi States, told the News Agency of Nigeria on Tuesday in Sokoto that the sanctions were meted out to the erring stations between Monday, July 15 and Friday, July 19.

Makera said that ten fuel stations were sealed in Sokoto and three in Kebbi for various offences.

He added that six stations were sanctioned for irregular or under dispensing of petroleum products below the displayed rates.

He said the department also punished five fuel stations for operating without a valid licence while one in each state was sanctioned for operating without safety precautions.

The DPR official noted that the department had visited no fewer than 250 filling stations in Sokoto and 300 in Kebbi during the operation.

Makera expressed dismay that most of the stations feigned ignorance of the regulations of the Department.

According to him, fuel stations ought to update their operational licences and regularize their operations promptly to avoid clampdown.


Source: News Agency of Nigeria

Hits: 5

Leave a Comment