The Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) has banned all irrelevant government agencies from operating at the seaports.

Hadiza Bala Usman, NPA’s Managing Director issued this order, while saying it was in line with the executive order by the Federal Government. According to the executive other, only seven agencies would be allowed entry to the port, henceforth.

Still going by the statement, the approved agencies include the NPA, Nigerian Customs Service (NCS), the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), the Nigerian Police, the Nigerian Immigration Service, the Department of State Services (DSS) and the Ports Health.

“Other agencies that are not on the list cannot operate inside the port, but could base their operations outside and interact with the approved agencies.

“These agencies are aware that they had always been operating at the ports outside the necessary approvals.

At the meeting, the Controller General of the Nigerian Customs Service (NCS), Ahmeed Ali, said the order would bring changes in the port processes and enhance the ease of doing business,” Usman said.

In explaining the order, the NPA boss said that over 14 government agencies had before now, operated inside the ports causing a clash of interest. This had resulted in touting, bribery and corruption.

Usman explained that the NPA already has its portal and is working to establish a “ports community system” which will serve as a medium of communication between the stakeholders and agencies.

She said the system would be ready in another month.

Recall the Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo had issued the executive order on May 18, 2017


Leave a Comment